Media Contact List

Young boy yelling into a microphone

 

Need to get the word out about all the good work your organization is doing?

By popular demand, the Human Services Coalition has compiled a list of local media outlets to assist in keeping area agencies connected with the community we serve.

For updates, changes, or additions to this list, please contact Tamara Beardsley at tbeardsley@hsctc.org.

This media contact list is compiled by the Human Services Coalition. We have made every effort to verify this information but do not guarantee its accuracy.

 

NEWSPAPERS:
ITHACA JOURNAL:

Law Enforcement, Public Safety, Justice, Courts:
Examples: crime alerts, arrests, public safety, fire, public health, safety and welfare
          General newsroom: ijnews@gannett.com
          Lois Wilson, Editor: lowilson@gannett.com
          Simon Wheeler: swheeler@ithacajournal.com

Family News, Health, & Nutrition:
          Lois Wilson: lowilson@gannett.com

Tickets, Arts, Leisure & Entertainment:
          Chris Kocher: ckocher@gannett.com
          Jim Catalano: jimcat@aol.com

Guest Columns, Letters to The Editor, or
to Schedule a Meeting with the Journal’s Editorial Board:

          Chris Kocher: ckocher@gannett.com
               For guest columns and letters to the editor
          Lois Wilson: lowilson@gannett.com
               To schedule a meeting with the editorial board

Photos:
Examples: events that present photo opportunities
          Simon Wheeler: swheeler@gannett.com

Complaints & Concerns:
Examples: items not getting into print or other errors
          Neill Borowoski, CNY Executive Editor: nborowski@gannett.com
          Lois Wilson, Editor in Ithaca: lowilson@gannett.com

Ithaca Journal Work Phones:
          Lois Wilson: 607.274.9272
          Chris Kocher: 607.798.1327
          Simon Wheeler: 607.274.9270

Ithaca Journal Home Phones:
For emergency news only outside of regular office hours.
          Lois Wilson, Editor: lowilson@gannett.com
               Elmira office: 607.271.8284
               Cell: 607.259.3147
          Simon Wheeler, Photo Editor: swheeler@gannett.com
               Cell: 607.592.2069
               Home: 607.277.4792

ITHACA TIMES: Arts calendar/events/volunteer recruitment:
Contact Name: Chris Harrington, Arts & Entertainment Editor
Email: arts@ithacatimes.com
Website: www.ithaca.com/calendar/

“Send us your letters:”
Contact Name: Nick Reynolds, Managing Editor
Email: editor@ithacatimes.com
Phone: 607.277.7000 ext. 224

FINGER LAKES COMMUNITY NEWSPAPERS:
Including: Random Harvest, Newfield News, Candor Chronicle, Lansing Ledge, Groton Independent, Dryden Courier, Ovid Gazette, Trumansburg Free Press, and the Interlaken Review.

Contact Name: Glynis Hart, Managing Editor & Calendar Correspondence
Email: editor@flcn.org
Phone: 607.277.7000 ext. 223
TOMPKINS WEEKLY: PSA online submission: http://www.tompkinsweekly.com/
PSA Email: editorial@tompkinsweekly.com
Adv & Business Email: advertising@TompkinsWeekly.com
Adv & Business Phone Line: 607.533.0057
Editorial Email: editorial@TompkinsWeekly.com
Editorial Phone Line: 607.533.0057
Address: 3100 N. Triphammer Rd. Suite 100, Lansing, NY 14882
ITHACA COLLEGE ITHACAN: Email: ithacan@ithaca.edu Phone: 607-274-3208
CORNELL CHRONICLE: Email: cunews@cornell.edu
Phone: 607.255.4206
CORNELL DAILY SUN:

News submission: news@cornellsun.com
Editor: editor-in-chief@cornellsun.com

THE DANBY AREA NEWS: Contact Name: Ted Crane
Email: danbynews@tedcrane.com
Please Note: All communications should be via UNENCODED PLAIN TEXT (messages in the body of the email, as if typed by hand). No attachments, please.
TOMPKINS COUNTY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE: Email: info@tompkinschamber.org
Phone: 607.273.7080
ITHACA CHILD, ITHACA PARENT AND TEEN: Jim Graney (Publisher): jgraney@twcny.rr.com
Phone:
607.327.1225
CORTLAND STANDARD: Email: news@cortlandstandard.net
Phone:
607.756.5665 ext. 148
ITHACA VOICE: Contacts: Jolene Almendarez and Michael Smith
Email:
tips@ithacavoice.com
Reporter:
Kelsey O’Connor
Email:
koconnor@ithacavoice.com
AP SYRACUSE BUREAU: New York City Email: APNYC@ap.org
Albany Email:
APAlbany@ap.org 
Phone:
315.430.5344
SYRACUSE NEWSPAPERS:

Press Releases/Tips: citynews@syracuse.com or features@syracuse.com
Letters for The Readers’ Page:
letters@syracuse.com
Phone:
315.470.0011

SYRACUSE NEW TIMES: Advertisement Email: advertising@syracusenewtimes.com
Publisher Email:
publisher@syracusenewtimes.com
Editorial Email:
editorial@syracusenewtimes.com
Phone:
315.422.7011
Mailing Address:
1415 W. Genesee St., Syracuse, N.Y. 13204
ELMIRA STAR-GAZETTE: Email: sgnews@gannett.com 
CORNING LEADER: News Editor, Stella Dupree: sdupree@the-leader.com

 

RADIO STATIONS:
WVBR: Email: info@wvbr.com
Business Phone Line: 607.273.4000
Studio Phone Line: 607.273.2121
Fax: 607.273.4069 College
Calendar Email: calendar@wvbr.com
     For campus-affiliated groups who want their event listed, please send an email with all the event details to the above listed address.
Soapbox Email: Soapbox@wvbr.com
     “The Soapbox from WVBR is a forum to have real people have their voices heard on a wide      range of topics. Every day at 8:30 and 9:30 pm, WVBR will present a new piece on an              issue or topic that affects our daily lives and the world we live in.

CAYUGA RADIO GROUP:
This is the contact information for the following stations:
WHCU (870 AM, 95.9 FM)

WNYY (1470 AM, 97.7 FM)
Q Country 103.7 (103.3 FM, 103.7 FM)
Lite Rock 97.3 (97.3 FM)
I100 (99.9 FM, 100.3 FM)
The Vine (96.7 FM)
The Buzzer (96.3 FM)
Rewind 107.7 (107.7 FM)
Z 95.5 (95.5 FM)

News Director, Kyle Robertson: krobertson@cyradiogroup.com
Public Service Announcements: psa@cyradiogroup.com
Operations Manager, Chris Allinger: callinger@cyradiogroup.com
Reporter, Jamie Swinnerton: JSwinnerton@cyradiogroup.com
Reporter, Chris Hedden: chedden@cyradiogroup.com
Main Office Phone: 607.257.6400
News Room Phone: 607.257.8249
Z95.5 Email: Connie Fairfax Ozmun: cfozmun@cyradiogroup.com
WICB: PSA Director: psa@wicb.org
Program Director: programming@wicb.org
Station Manager: manager@wicb.org
News Director: news@wicb.org
General Manager: generalmanager@wicb.org
WRFI-ITHACA COMMUNITY RADIO: Office Phone: 607.319.5445.
Studio Phone: 607.441.WRFI (9734)

ALCANCE LATINO en DOMINGO:
con CARLOS H. GUTIERREZ en RADIO COMUNITARIA ITHACA.
88.1 FM Ithaca • 91.9 FM Watkins Glen
7:00 pm a 9:00 pm.

En Internet: www.wrfi.org Correo
Electrónico: carlosalcancelatino@gmail.com
Gustenos en Face Book: https://www.facebook.com/WRFICommunityRadio/?fref=ts
WSKG: Submit at: http://wskg.org/events
Email: bjaspers@wskg.org
Phone: Brett Jaspers, News Editor, 607-729-0100, ext 306
WSYR NEWS RADIO (SYRACUSE-106.9FM): Studio Line: 315.421.WSYR
Newsroom Phone: 315.474.NEWS Newsroom
Email: wsyrnews@iheartmedia.com
WXHC FM:
101.5 Homer/Cortland
101.1 Ithaca
News – Brad Smith: News@WXHC.com
Newsroom: 607.749.9942
  
TV STATIONS:
 
PEGASYS PUBLIC TV CENTER: Email: Lauren Stefanelli, Access Coordinator: lauren.stefanelli@charter.com
Studio location: 612 W. Green St., Ithaca, NY 14850
Mail: 519 W. State St. Ithaca, NY 14850
Hours of Operation: Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 5:30-9:30pm, also Wednesdays 1:00-5:00 pm
Program drop-off also available at 519 W. State St. TWC cable store during the day.
NEWS 10 (SYRACUSE): News Tips: 315.234.1010 or 1.866.4NEWS10
Email: yournews@twcnews.com
**Press Releases and Community Calendar Events can be submitted using online website forms**
ITHACA COLLEGE ICTV-16: Chris Wheatley, Manager & Television Ops: wheatley@ithaca.edu
General Manager: manager@ictv.org
Newsroom: News@ithaca.edu
CENTRAL NY BUSINESS JOURNAL: Email: news@cnybj.com
WTVH-5: Email: news@cnycentral.com
Website: http://cnycentral.com/station/contact
NEWS CHANNEL 9: WSYR TV Newsroom: Assignmentdesk@LocalSYR.com
General Email: NewsChannel9@LocalSYR.com WSTM-3
SYRACUSE: Email: news@cnycentral.com
Website: http://cnycentral.com/station/contact
WETM-18,ELMIRA: Email: news@wetmtv.com
WENY NEWS: Email: News36@weny.com
Newsroom: 607.739.1412
WBNG-12: Email: actionnews@wbngtv.com
Website:
http://www.wbng.com/contact
WICZ-40 (FOX-40): Email: Fox40news@wicz.com
Newsroom:
607.798.0070

 

OTHER:

HSC Listserv:

This listserv is for non-profit Health and Human Services agencies to communicate with one another in an effort to further their missions. Please review our guidelines for posting at www.hsctc.org/listserv to determine if your post would be appropriate for our listserv members.